Nearly normal

Feeling nearly normal for 2 days. No new hemiplegic migraine attacks. I am following a strict no trigger diet: avoiding bread, malt, yeast, cheese, fermented/aged items, limiting alcohol, dairy, caffiene, chocolate. Eating real whole foods, nothing packaged. Logging a diary. Up to 3/4 dose of gabapentin. Trying to very hard to be healthy and overcome this.

I quit my side job of teaching art lessons. I thought I would feel sad or disappointed, I just feel relief. One less thing to worry about. I guess I wasn’t that attached to it.

I’ve been up out of bed and trying to recover. I don’t have all my strength back but not limping or twitching. My thinking feels slow, I stare off in to space trying to work, trying to remember the next step. Having trouble getting from A to B mentally. And finding it impossible to find C. I used to do A-Z with no effort.

Example, my mental math is gone. Doctor asked the age of my AF when he died. I don’t know this being estranged from him, but for some reason recalled he was born in 1943. But then I could not do the simple math.

Example, my daughter wanted me to do a math trick she learned. Mom, think of any 2 digit number and add the 2 digits, then subtract that number from the original number…I couldnt do it. I thought ’32’, 3+2=5, and then it was all a blank. completely blank, the number were GONE when I tried to think about what she asked. I could hold on to 32 or 5, but not both together. It was the weirdest feeling, grasping for something so simple, and I thought of the hundreds of students I have seen stumped over the years. It was scary and fascinating at the same time, making me wonder how the migraine had disabled such a selective bit of my functioning – my working memory – or short term memory.

The scientist in me is actually enjoying figuratively dissecting my own brain. I NEED to know how this migraine thing works.

Link to learn about the brain areas

excerpt from above link In the course of a day, there are many times when you need to keep some piece of information in your head for just a few seconds. Maybe it is a number that you are “carrying over” to do a subtraction, or a persuasive argument that you are going to make as soon as the other person finishes talking. Either way, you are using your short-term memory.

In fact, those are two very good examples of why you usually hold information in your short-term memory: to accomplish something that you have planned to do. Perhaps the most extreme example of short-term memory is a chess master who can explore several possible solutions mentally before choosing the one that will lead to checkmate.

This ability to hold on to a piece of information temporarily in order to complete a task is specifically human. It causes certain regions of the brain to become very active, in particular the pre-frontal lobe. (located at the very front of the brain in the forehead)”

6 thoughts on “Nearly normal

  1. Good to hear about more improvement. Just so you know, I’ve always had trouble with keeping numbers in my head like that. Of course, my normal isn’t your normal. What I mean is thanks for helping me understand my struggle. Praying you continue to improve.

    • Interesting, yes “my normal isn’t your normal” this is so important for everyone to understand when reading blogs or daily interactions with others. I like that phrase, says it all.

  2. Hooray for your feeling better and being up and about. Hope you keep improving. Sorry about your memory – mine went after I had some ECT, been two years, the weird thing I lost is my singing voice. The brain is such a mystery!

  3. It is always encouraging to hear you share that you are beginning to come back around, even if you do end up having to deal with the frustration of sluggish thinking or memory from time to time. It’s funny how our brains become a direct reflection of what else is going on in our lives. Hang in there and keep pushing towards peace and calm (and healthy eating is also good). Hugs.

  4. While on gabapentin I couldn’t add more than a few numbers or remember directions. As a pain killer it was amazing. I just couldn’t live with the side effects. Topiramate isn’t as effective, but at least I can remember things.

Leave a Reply

