My body is talking to me

English: A young seal at Donna Nook This perso...

I thought this little guy’s tummy was a much better image to share my own 🙂 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My body is finally talking to me, or I am finally able to interpret what it says, not sure which. Either way, I am very happy about this development!

I have had a long journey, spanning 3 decades, of disordered eating. Between the dulled nerves from my spinal cord injury and constantly ignoring whatever hunger signals I did have (for various reasons I have posted about previously), I can’t recall ever feeling full or satisfied from food. I remember that feeling of being over-full, like after thanksgiving or my binge sessions, but I never had the “you’re almost full, you can stop eating now” signal.

Until recently. Yay! I apologize if this post seems silly, like ‘is she really writing about how her belly feels’? Yes, yes I am.

I decided to use the New Year as motivation to improve my health (like so many others, but hey, I don’t have to be unique). I don’t have a specific weight loss goal, instead I am focusing on eating more whole foods and less junk, and exercising daily (wii fit plus!). I used to rely on so many boxed and packaged foods to quickly feed my family. We are getting much less wrapped food now, and instead going for fruits, veggies, greek yogurt, cheese, etc when we want a snack. Sugar is being reduced slowly, but significantly. I’m not going health food crazy, just little changes that I am hoping will add up over time. Teaching myself and my kids how to make healthy choices. (Hubby is a lost cause I’m afraid 🙂

The first time I felt full was about 2 weeks ago. It was such a strange feeling, I actually had no idea what it was. I thought maybe I had some gas or IBS acting up, but realized it wasn’t uncomfortable, just foreign. I ignored it, and then it happened again the next time I ate. I still had food on my plate, but I felt this strange feeling again. I actually thought something was wrong, and that maybe I was getting that tummy virus that had been going around, so I stopped eating dinner and didn’t eat any more that night, just in case.

Next morning I was woken up by my tummy growling. What? I have heard other people’s tummy, but not my own in way too many years. I ate a little breakfast, and had that same strange feeling. It was then I figured it out. My tummy was telling me I had enough to eat! Is this what full feels like?

I am so happy to have rediscovered what should be such a basic part of my functionality. I keep listening to this new feeling, and it keeps coming back, and feels so good now. It is such a simple contented feeling, and so peaceful. And I have already lost 5 pounds this year. I don’t think my scale has gone backwards for over a year and a half, maybe longer.

Here’s to a healthier year!

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 thoughts on “My body is talking to me

  1. This is not a silly post at all! What a wonderful development in your life 🙂 My family has made some good healthier changes this year as well and we’re stocking the fridge with fruit and healthy snacks. Luckily, Colt prefers natural foods to processed ones so it wasn’t a problem for him at all, in fact, he was happier.

    I think it’s great that your body is functioning properly and is signaling when it’s time to stop eating. I’ll bet you see rapid weight loss and improved muscle tone very quickly. Well done 🙂 Very cool development.

  2. Wow… I never thought about it this way before. I ignore, too often, the signal of feeling pleasantly full. Maybe I need to make that one of my gifts to myself… maybe next month. Great post.

  3. This is something I’m not so great at. It doesn’t help that marathon training makes me starved half the time. Hopefully I’m not too old to learn. At least I eat healthy even if I don’t always sense when I’m full.

  4. I am trying to listen to my body when it talks gently instead of waiting until it is screaming at me. I was taught to ignore how I felt. I think this is a great step in a healthy direction. Go you.

  5. oh, I just love this. When we finally reconnect with ourselves, it is an amazing and liberating feeling after years of isolation and dissociation. Becoming “bodily aware” is such a state of transformation. It is as if your mind finally understands, “I am here. I am living. I matter. ” SO happy for you.

    • Yes you get it! That is it exactly, I am so glad you understand. It is like a confirmation that I really am here and that I matter. Doing what my body wants is a form of self care I never thought possible for me. Thanks xx

Leave a Reply

