Emotions and Memories

A short, but interesting, article discussing a part of the brain that seems to be responsible for connecting emotion to memories.

http://psychcentral.com/news/2013/07/13/study-finds-key-brain-region-that-ties-memory-emotion/57151.html

I don’t know anyone with this disease – but I know firsthand what happens when the emotion-memory process has gone haywire.

My first thought was actually my abusive father. I’m wondering if a problem in this area of the brain could also contribute to the creation of a cold, cruel psychopath. To me it seems he didn’t have human emotions at all though – none to attach to a memory in the first place. I wonder if the people with FTD in this article had the appropriate emotional response at the moment, but then can’t attach it to the memory? No time to explore that right now.

If anything, I do think I have the opposite issue with PTSD. I tend to attach very strong emotions to somewhat neutral events. But then I tend to experience strong emotions regularly. I have a big heart that I no longer mind wearing on my sleeve.

I used to think emotions were weak and girly and should be suppressed. (Gee, who taught me to think that way?) Now I know they are beautiful, and are the essence and language of our spirit. Emotions, good and bad and in between should be embraced, explored, expressed, and shared.

6 thoughts on “Emotions and Memories

  1. I’m often accused of being too emotional, too intense, to the point of being “rabid.” Then I listen to talk radio or watch television. I’m pastel in comparison. I think of the fact I saw “Fellowship of the Rings” 34x in the theater. (Tickets were $4 then $5.) I was constantly teased. I knew people who’d seen it over 100x. I didn’t accuse them of going too often, so why were people belittling me? I didn’t fit into their parameters of healthy. I used to watch a lot of television. The actors were so “alive.” Now that I’ve rediscovered my own emotions, I recognize the “drama”… Never realized I did that. Emotions are rich. Thinking of my own NMs need to fabricate emotions sometimes “crying on command” and wonder if they’re born that way or if they are damaged in their own childhood. I know NM came from a couple of nasty parents. I also know her parents came from nasty parents as well. It’s been passed down the family line. Interesting start to my day. 🙂

    • Very interesting discussion. We do learn how to express emotion from our parents and immediate family. Some cultures have minimal expression, and some seem over the top to many Americans. I have recently been settling into what feels right for me, and I think I have more to learn to find the balance. I feel things intensely, but I have learned that most people can’t handle me expressing that intensity. I also recognize the drama around me, which to me, is generally false, not a true expression of intense emotions. Like you see in every reality show – like reality isn’t enough so they enhance it. But LOTR is intense in a different way, although fiction, it feels powerful. I love LOTR! I have seen it multiple times, not in double digits, but whatever makes you happy is fine with me. Darn anyone who tries to steal your joy. 🙂

  2. That is an interesting result of the cortex they discovered. Very good question you pose – did the patient already have a well wired response to emotions.

    Totally relate to acting emotionally to neutral events. So get that. 🙂
    xxoo TR

  3. Pingback: Emotional Attachment | TimesrInteresting

  4. Pingback: Emotion and Spirit | Lavender Turquois

Leave a Reply

