Late Bird – poem 19/30

Luza - The bird is back! (by)

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There once was  a bird named Late
Whose habits secured his fate.
Loved watching the moon
and sleeping ’til noon,
So worms, this poor bird never ate

Being the last bird on the lawn
Late hunted while stifling yawns
His belly, it growled
His beak, it scowled
Early worms long since gone

So what’s a poor bird to do?
Ignore what he loves so true?
Should he go to bed early
like a good little birdy?
Or can he have worms and eat them too?

5 thoughts on “Late Bird – poem 19/30

    • The picture is stunning, makes me want to draw it. I wrote the poem first and was so very pleased to find a pic that fit it so well. Also reminds me of Poe, so win-win for me.

  1. So what’s a poor bird to do?
    Ignore what he loves so true?
    Should he go to bed early
    unlike a good little nerdie?
    Or should his worms eat him too?

  2. Love the picture. I so relate to the poem. I once told a student that wanted my help in the computer lab that I don’t wake up until 9 AM and all complicated questions should be asked after that time. He complained it was 8:45. Well 15 minutes later, I answered his question. 🙂

Leave a Reply

