The Grass is Greener Where You Water It

Grasses

Grasses (Photo credit: Matt Ohia)

The Grass ain’t always greener on the other side, but it is always greener where you water it. Just heard that line in a song on the radio and wanted to post it to remember it forever. Isn’t that a lovely thought?

It was talking about love and relationships, and that you should put the effort into the current partnership instead of searching for someone new at the first sign of trouble. I think this applies to so many areas of life though. Life requires effort – plain and simple.

Recently I have been watering, or nurturing, myself first. I realized I grew up with no one to nurture me. Many parts of me were undeveloped, or had withered without care. Lots of sun, and no rain for most of my life. I had been lost in the weeds. And if you have ever gardened, you know how difficult it is to get started, to restore health to a neglected yard. But you also know it is possible to make tiny improvements with daily nurturing. And tons of hard work. And eventually, that barren, neglected, devoid of life landscape will flourish and grow and support life in a multitude of ways.

Luckily, our human roots are strong, and withstand any storm, any drought. My roots have been hidden, waiting for the first drop of rain, to send up fragile looking sprouts in all directions. A few have already begun to blossom, and more buds are ready every day. All I need to do now is take care of them, and trust that those that love me now, will also take care of those new little buds.

I can’t wait to see how many blossoms I can have.

9 thoughts on “The Grass is Greener Where You Water It

  1. Pingback: Another wonderfully positive post from r2b « The Project: Me by Judy

  2. Pingback: Getting Therapy Back on Track | Roots to Blossom

Leave a Reply

