Amazing discussion here, both in the post and the comments. My own marriage is in a state of transformation right now

Blooming Lotus

PhotobucketI apologize in advance if this blog entry steps on any toes because I really do not mean for it to. My therapist told me not to beat myself up over my marriage because at the time I was deciding who to marry (I was 23 and straight out of school), I had nobody in my life telling me what to look for in a marriage. After 20 years of marriage, I still don’t understand what marriage is supposed to be, and I don’t want to drive both hub and me crazy by having some skewed understanding, so I am hoping you readers can help me out with this.

I don’t intend this blog entry to be specifically about **my marriage.** Instead, I want to explore what marriage is supposed to be – I guess what the “goal” of marriage is supposed to be. Is it supposed to be the…

View original post 316 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Check out “Passionate Marriage” by David Schnarch and also Peck’s discussion of “love” in “The Road Less Traveled” as well as Fromm’s “The Art of Loving,” and letter no. 7 and 8 in Rilke’s “Letters to a Young Pot.”. What it takes for us to grow and mature and stay committed to another and bring the gift of our best self to a relationship and learn how to transcend our selfishness and actually love another deeply is what marriage is all about. The rewards are immense in terms of the psychological and emotional intimacy, companionship, comforts, as well as the physical intimacy–if two people can do the work and stick with it and each other!

    • Whoops! I was trying to add this comment to the actual original post, not to your reblog, rootstoblossom. Sorry about that! I thought these books would add depth to any discussion of the whys and deeper potentials of marriage.

Leave a Reply

