Allergy link – Feeling Depressed and Being Depressed is not the same

Paragraphs like the following, written by so-called scientists, make me feel depressed.

There’s “no evidence that there is a causality between allergic rhinitis and depression,” says Richard F. Lockey, MD, professor of medicine and director of the division of allergy and immunology at the University if South Florida College of Medicine in Tampa. “But if you can’t breathe through your nose, if you have headaches, if you can’t sleep well at night, there’s a good chance you’re going to feel depressed.”

excerpt from http://www.webmd.com/allergies/features/allergies-depression

Anyone who has been through a depression will tell you that you don’t feel depressed, you are depressed. Every cell in your body is depressed. Every thought in your brain is depressed. Every function in every system is depressed.

Depressed can be a feeling, like “I’m so depressed, my boyfriend didn’t call me today” or depressed can be a major medical/health issue affecting every part of your life, like “I’m so depressed, I haven’t had the strength to shower this week, I can’t remember where I left the cat, I can’t read the words on this page, I will fall asleep sitting up because I am so worn out by getting the mail”

I was looking for an article I read long ago, about how they created antidepressants from antihistamines. They are chemically quite similar. But I am finding it very difficult to find scholarly articles any more, everything is dumbed down for the masses. No offense to the masses, but I understand chemistry and enjoy reading the entire scholarly and medical research journals. Yup – for fun. I recall in college, when this internet do-dad was brand new and all you could find was seriously nerdy stuff online – back when there were no pictures or you had to wait all year for one to load up in Mosaic.

English: 2D structure of nonsedating antihista...

The reason I was looking for this article was because I may have discovered a key component to my own depression systems. Every fall and winter I take myself off of the antihistamines that I take in the spring and summer. Woah. I has severe nasal symptoms all spring,  summer, and into the fall until everything freezes. I take Loratadine for my allergies. And then each year I stop. And then each year by January I find myself in a deep depression barely able to function. Woah again. This winter has almost not been a winter. Barely any snow, warm temps, lots of rain. I started taking my allergy meds early. And I woke up from the depression early. Coincidence? Perhaps. But now I can’t wait until next year to try staying on my allergy meds all year long and see how it goes. I am pretty freaking excited about this. Could it be so simple?

Probably not. But what if it is?

This is also not the article I was looking for, but it does have some of that info. Tired of searching.

Fluoxetine was the first SSRI antidepressant approved for use in the US and was introduced by Eli Lilly in 1987. The patent expired in 2001 and fluoxetine is now available as a generic medication. Fluoxetine was derived from diphenhydramine (Benadryl), an antihistamine that was known to have antidepressant properties. The introduction of SSRI antidepressants dramatically changed the treatment of depression and SSRIs have become the most prescribed medications in the world.

excerpt from http://www.anti-depressants.com/drugs/ssri/fluoxetine

2 thoughts on “Allergy link – Feeling Depressed and Being Depressed is not the same

  1. Huh… well, what do you know about that. Certainly makes me wonder. I’m going to have to keep an eye on myself this spring, to see what happens. I’ve started back on my allergy medicine. I didn’t know that about anti-histamines. Thanks for sharing the info.

Leave a Reply

