10 examples of why I’m not messed up, the rest of the world is, really

I have decided I’m not the messed up one. It’s everyone else. Really. The more I see other people, the more I interact in various social situations, the more I react with “What? Really? Did they just say/do that? Do they really care (or not care) about that? That’s messed up.”

Child 1

(Child 1 (Photo credit: Tony Trần)) Maybe if I do this, I'll understand why everyone is so messed up

This may seem judgmental and condescending to some. If it does, I’d be happy to hear your side of the story. Just trying to understand what is happening to our world and why people seem to have messed up values for what is important.

Some examples of this recently:

  1. Shopping in Wal-mart (no that’s not the messed up part, just the cheap part) A small child, possibly 4 yrs old, wanders off from his mother. A Wal-mart employee finds child and attempts to find the mom. Child was in toys, mom was in women’s clothes dept, 1/2 a store away. Mother is found, child is returned. Mother never noticed child was missing, and did not seem concerned that child was returned by the employee. Mother did not scold child or thank employee, just kept shopping.
  2. While volunteering on a parent committee, one parent has in earphones, so we have to stop what we are doing, walk over to her and tap her shoulder every time we need to speak to her. Each time she puts the earphones back in. And then starts singing, badly, and loudly to the music that only she can hear. Then leaves early, allowing the rest of us to clean up.
  3. Parents on my own street drive their children to the school bus stop at the end of our street. And then they all wait in the running van watching a DVD until the bus arrives. My kids have to walk past 2 houses to get to bus stop. Neighbors would have to walk past 4 or 5. I can see the kids and even speak to them while waiting on my porch. When it is raining, my kids have umbrellas. When it is cold, they have gloves and hats.
  4. Another parent discusses remodeling her son’s room again. Says he is into Star Wars now, has all the Wii games and has seen all the movies. Son is barely 6 years old. Recommended age for Star Wars is 8-10, due to violence and intensity. I want to share Star Wars with my kids, but will wait until I know they can handle it without nightmares.
  5. Checking out at our grocery store, the clerk picks up 1 of my 2 gallons of milk, and asks if I saw the sign that half gallons were on sale today. I say “No”. Clerk stares at me, now struggling to hold up the gallon, apparently waiting for me. “Aren’t you going to go get them and put these back? You’ll save a ton of money” I had already decided that saving a ton of money (25 cents per half gallon, so I would have saved a dollar) was not worth getting out of line, making the people behind me in line wait, walking clear back to the dairy with 2 jugs and a squirming preschooler, and returning with 4 jugs and a squirming preschooler. I answer slowly “no, these are fine” and she expresses shock and stares at me while she makes it beep and then shakes her head in disbelief, muttering something about “wasting money”. I was just thinking if she’d hurry up, I’d get back to work and make much more than a dollar. I’d rather waste some money than my life worrying about crap like that.
  6. Every month the schools send home another fundraising packet. I refuse to sell over priced items to friends, family and neighbors. I will happily donate time and money to the PTO.
  7. People who know the least speak the most, and the loudest.
  8. The masses actually believe what they see on TV. The masses think it is right to pay millions to someone for throwing/kicking/bouncing a ball and allow nurses/teacher/police/firefighters to struggle.  The masses know more about celebrities than their own family.
  9. Many people express shock that my kids do not have ipods, DS‘s, ipads, etc. Our van has no entertainment. And yet we all survive long road trips somehow. They read, color, talk to each other, look out the window, play I spy, and the “stop touching me” or “stop copying me” games that every road trip needs. Sometimes they just think. Sit there quietly and think. And when they share these thoughts, I am always amazed.
  10. When I sit alone quietly – I am not always lonely, or antisocial. Sometimes I prefer to observe, rather than play all of the other reindeer games. Sometimes I am content to observe my own thoughts. I’ll try not to judge your endless meaningless babbling if you try not to judge my lack of it.

This was fun. This may become a series. 

8 thoughts on “10 examples of why I’m not messed up, the rest of the world is, really

  1. You have listed great examples of our society’s lack of respect for everything! It saddens me when I see it. My son notices too and he’s only 6. If we’re out together and he asks why someone said or did something rude or inconsiderate, I make it a point to either agree with him loud enough for the jerk to hear me or I explain l(oud enough again) why my son shouldn’t do what the jerk did. I always get funny looks. 😉

    • I have also used the messed up actions of others to illustrate points to my kids. Look at that angry woman yelling at the clerk. How do you think she should behave? Do you think yelling is fair? etc. And yes, even better when the offender can hear you explain to the kids 🙂

  2. This: “People who know the least speak the most, and the loudest.” was so, sadly true. I used to say to my father in law, as he screamed across the table to make his point the CLEAREST:

    “Yeah pop, yell louder. It makes you more right” (He never stopped though…lol)

    Great post. Can relate with every point!

  3. I hope it does become a series. I could relate to most of your examples…really LOVE ‘the masses’ one because it’s my sentiments exactly. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

