Beginning a journey takes only 1 step

I have a story to tell. It is not going to change the world, but it will change my world. This blog is to detail the account of how my poisonous roots of growing up in an abusive home have finally opened up and nourished the woman waiting for 35 years to blossom.

Some of the stories will be shocking. Most will be heart wrenching. Many will be joyful. Most will have a bit of my unavoidable humor in the way I see things.

I am not going to tell this story chronologically. Instead I will highlight memoirs that come to mind as they come to mind. I hope to find a supportive network of abuse survivers, or possibly prevent this type of abuse from happening to other children.

My journey to accepting myself and finding my place in the world is ongoing, but I feel that I have come far enough to share my journey and possibly help others. The only way I know to start, is just to start.

So buckle up baby, it’s going to be a bumpy ride.

2 thoughts on “Beginning a journey takes only 1 step

  1. I decided to follow your blog after reading the entries. I could say it’s sad, heart breaking etc. but really those sentiments are not strong enough to describe what you have been through, or what you will go through as you work your out of the darkness.
    The journey will be rough for some when they read about your memories, but for some us, your memories will be resonate with us. I’ve lived with a lot of monstrous people in my past and have come a long, long way since then. Alone. With only my conviction that I deserved SO much more than their legacy. I have a beautiful family, my children are grown up and solid, I even have grandchildren to adore. My husband is a rare specimen in this day and age and I know how lucky I am to have him continue to live in my world, alway there to extend that strong hand when I need it. He is a rock and he is honourable. And, he makes me laugh. I couldn’t possible ask for anything more.
    If ever you need…?…I’m here. Just offering my support to you. You are not under any obligation to take it:)

    • Wow. Thank you for the support. It means a lot to me. I’ve gotten to know some amazing people here in wordpress through their blogs, and feel like this is finally a safe place where I can say the things I need to say, and learn and grow some more. I’m not afraid to offend anyone, as they can simply stop reading. But I guess I am hoping to meet some others like me to share their perspective. I made it through the darkest part of my journey, I believe those dreadful dark days are gone, but I have a long way to go to yet. I also have a beautiful family, but they are very young, and use up all my strength some days. I want to be stronger for them. That is great you have your husband. I’m feeling very confused about mine these days. He’s there for us in many ways, but then just isn’t sometimes too.

Leave a Reply

